What are National Contact Points for RBC ?

National Contact Points for Responsible Business Conduct (NCPs for RBC) are agencies established by governments. Their mandate is twofold: to promote the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and related due diligence guidance, and to handle cases (referred to as “specific instances”) as a non-judicial grievance mechanism. To date, 50 governments have an NCP for RBC.

All 50 governments adhering to the OECD Guidelines have the legal obligation to set up an NCP. Today, NCPs make up a network and a community of practitioners, dealing with a wide array of impacts involving companies either through their operations or their supply chains.

Find out more about NCPs  |  Browse resources on NCPs

In focus


  • 7 June 2022 – The Croatian NCP hosted a Conference on Responsible Business Conduct (RBC) in Zagreb. The event, entitled ‘Responsible Today, Sustainable Tomorrow’ was co-organised with the OECD Centre for RBC. For further information, please contact
  • 7 June 2022 – Peer-learning event: Second generation of National Action Plans and effectiveness of a smart mix of voluntary and mandatory human rights due diligence.
  • 2 June 2022 – The Moroccan NCP held a webinar on the following theme: ‘For sustainable and responsible agro-industrial sectors’. Read more

NCPs as grievance mechanisms

Browse the NCP database

Got a grievance related to the non-observance of the OECD Guidelines?

The ‘specific instance’ procedure is designed to facilitate the resolution of disputes related to the implementation of the Guidelines by companies.

Any person that can demonstrate an ‘interest’ (broadly defined) in reporting issues can file a case with an NCP.


Find out how NCPs handle cases

NCP capacity building

While all NCPs are different, they need to achieve ‘functional equivalence’, meaning that, they must function with an equivalent degree of effectiveness. To stay effective and to adapt to the fast-moving RBC context, NCPs constantly need to build capacity.

Find out more about how NCPs address the requirements of functional equivalence and build capacity

Meet the NCPs

Learn more about the different National Contact Points on the country links below. 

Download contact details for NCPs


Contact us

The OECD Secretariat is responsible for coordination with National Contact Points.

Please direct any queries to

Twitter @OECD_BizFin  |   LinkedIn  Business and Finance at the OECD